The Modern Language Department’s objective is for students to reach proficiency at the end of his two year studies of the language. Classroom instruction is communicative with a focus on project-based assessments.
Students are required to take two consecutive years of a foreign language beginning in sophomore year. Although a third year is not a requirement, the department strongly recommends that students consider studying a modern language in senior year. High-achievers are also encouraged to consider the simultaneous study of two languages. Students may choose to study French, German, Italian, or Spanish. Questions regarding language requirements or expectations should be directed to any of the language teachers.

The department takes pride in the global and academic opportunities that are offered to students. Our language teachers are also responsible in the coordination of exchange programs, cultural clubs and events. All languages participate in the national examination contest as well as membership of their respective honor society.

Placement tests in all languages are given to rising sophomores, and to transfer students who have had prior study or exposure to the language.

Multiple levels of Mandarin are offered to sophomores, juniors, and seniors as an elective course. Mandarin may not be used to satisfy the two-year modern language requirement.

TEACHER

EMAIL ADDRESS

PHONE

Ms. Rosalie Romano (chair) RomanoR@spprep.org 201-547-2372
Ms. Nery Gomez GomezN@spprep.org 201-547-6417
Ms. Keiry Lone LoneK@spprep.org 201-547-6453
Mr. Patrick McGovern, ’99 McGovernPatrick@spprep.org 201-547-2348
Mr. Rémi Pastorek PastorekR@spprep.org 201-547-2302
Mr. Thomas Powers PowersT@spprep.org 201-547-6447
Ms. Aymee Torres TorresA@spprep.org 201-547-6426
Mr. Salvatore Veniero, ’05 VenieroS@spprep.org 201-547-2364

Tutoring Sessions

Please contact your language teacher if you would like to schedule a tutoring session with a member of the following Modern Languages Honor Societies:

  • Societe Honoraire de Francais
  • Delta Epsilon Phi
  • Società Onoraria Italica
  • Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica