You are here

Arrupe Series


Saint Peter’s Prep, the state’s only Jesuit high school, sponsors an annual, week-long summit exploring a particular social justice issue through the lens of Catholic Social Teaching.  This year, the Arrupe Series will focus on the topic of Mass Incarceration in the United States.  The summit will take place from March 20-24, 2017.

The Arrupe Series is named for Pedro Arrupe, S.J., the late superior general of the Jesuits.  Arrupe charged the religious order with its modern mission of forming "men and women for and with others."  The summit includes a community mass, a keynote address, a day of breakout presenters, curricular activities, field trips, and other opportunities to engage more deeply with the theme of mass incarceration.
“Our Catholic, Jesuit faith challenges us to reflect on matters of injustice in our world and the response required from us as Catholics,” said John Dougherty, Prep’s Director of Campus Ministry. “The goal of the Arrupe Series is to bring a specific issue of injustice to the forefront and encourage our community to engage it and to act.”


Now in its 20th year, the Pedro Arrupe, S.J., Lecture Series has hosted, among others, noted peace activist Dan Berrigan, S.J.; author Bernard Lefkowitz; death penalty activist Sr. Helen Prejean, CSJ; Fr. Roy Bourgiose, founder of the School of America's Watch; Marc Morial, former mayor of New Orleans and president of the National Urban League; Greg Boyle, S.J., of the successful anti-gang initiative Homeboy Industries; Sean Carroll, S.J. of the Kino Border Initiative; Mr. Jim Keady of Team Sweat; Fr. Joseph Carver, S.J., of the Oregon Province; Fr. Jeff Putthoff, S.J., of Hopeworks 'N Camden; Dr. Michael Kimmel, sociologist and author of Guyland; and Sr. Peggy O'Neill, S.C., director of Centro Arte para La Paz in El Salvador.


The Arrupe 2017 Planning Committee

Mr. John Dougherty, Director of Campus Ministry (Chair) Michael Castaldo, '17
Ms. Cheryl Rice, Religion Department (Co-Chair) Jonathan Garzon, '17
Mr. Ryan O'Connell, Assistant Director of Campus Ministry Luke Giunta, '17
Ms. Mary Durante, Director of Student Services Michael Nulty, '17
Dr. Michael Holt, Science Department Paul Policastro, '17
Ms. Adrienne McLoghlin, English Department Rohan Singh, '17
Ms. Boreta Singleton, Director of Faculty Formation